Pumpkin and Apple Soup

On a whim, I bought a sugar pie pumpkin. It has been staring at me for the past two weeks and today I decided to use it in this soup. It was small enough to give me the perfect amount and a few seeds for an attempt at roasting pumpkin seeds (recipe to follow shortly, I’m sure).

Whenever I cook pumpkin, I have the hardest time cutting it open, until recently. A friend pointed out that we use flimsy saws to carve pumpkins all the time, and so I used a steak knife– the struggle is over. I carved out the top, as if I was making a Jack-o-lantern, scooped out all the guts, and then cut the pumpkin in half. Luckily my peeler was sharp enough to peel the skin off, which came rather speedily once I got the hang of it.

I didn’t have any vegetable broth so I used chicken instead and I don’t recommend it. The chicken broth gives the soup a richness that just isn’t right for the other ingredients. Still, I think this is a very rich soup no matter which broth you go with. As far as serving goes, I like to eat squash soups with some diced Haas avocados and a good sourdough toast.

Pumpkin and Apple Soup

From: French Women Don’t Get Fat Cookbook by Mireille Guiliano

Time: 1 hour and 20 minutes (by my watch from start to finish)

Serves: 4 to 6

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, peeled and chopped
  • 2 teaspoons peeled and finely grated fresh ginger
  • 2 to 3 pounds pumpkin, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 2 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and diced (about 1 ½ cups)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • Pinch of ground cloves
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 4 sprigs fresh rosemary

Directions:

  1. Warm the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the onion and ginger and sauté until softened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the pumpkin, 1 ¼ cups diced apple, the honey, cinnamon, and ground cloves and cook, stirring for 1 minute. Add the vegetable broth and simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Carefully transfer the mixture to a food mill or blender and puree until smooth. Season to taste and serve the soup garnished with the remaining ¼ cup deiced apple and sprigs of rosemary.

Leave a Reply

