Eating the Best

Today I made black bean brownies and was really excited to try them, love them, and then add them to my recipe collection. As they were baking, the smell of chocolate goodness filled the air. They looked beautiful. But when I tried them, to my disappointment, they were just okay.

Now, I’m not saying that I won’t finish that batch of brownies. Nor am I saying that they were completely dissatisfying. But it is my opinion that if you are going to eat something, you might as well eat the best whenever possible. I had a conversation with my roommate the other day about how little a percentage of their dollar Americans spend on food, compared to other developed nations. It really blows my mind when people try to find the cheapest food out there, sacrificing one of the best actions we do all day.

Think about it; you essentially are what you eat. The components of your food breakdown and are absorbed into your body, used to fuel your cells, build muscle, and so much more. Before that process can begin, however, you have to eat. Humans are blessed with the capability to experience pleasure through food, to find joy in that beautiful bite that satisfies all your senses. Why would you waste that opportunity on something mediocre?

Of course, you can’t always eat the best because it may not be available or it is just out of your price range, which is fine. But if you have the means, I don’t think you should cheat yourself with what you eat. If one recipe does not yield the best brownies, you toss it and try another until you find the perfect one. You’ll know you’ve got it when you take a bite.

Leave a Reply

