Sweet Potato and Bacon Hash

I recently took a trip to Charleston, South Carolina, and found that the main activity there is eating. Which is perfectly fine with me. Although Florida is in the south, I don’t really think it is part of THE South. So it was fun to walk around Charleston and try traditional southern cooking, along with some twists.

One thing I noticed was that a lot, and I mean a lot, of things were made with bacon. I had a yeast doughnut with maple glaze and bacon at Glazed, and it was one of the best things I ate. Although I can’t recreate that (…or can I…) I can recreate another recipe that uses bacon. I went on Charleston Culinary Tours and through their farmer’s market tour, had some amazing dishes. But one small component really stands out for me, and that was a small sweet potato and bacon hash side. Below is me and my mother’s reproduction.

Sweet Potato and Bacon Hash

Total Time: 45 minutes

Serves: 4

Ingredients:

  • 2 large sweet potatoes
  • 1/3 pound raw (uncooked) bacon
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

  1. Peel sweet potatoes. Cut into 1/4 inch cubes. Use a sharp knife and a bit of pressure to cut through the sweet potatoes. I did it buy cutting one side of the potato and placing that flat side down to use as a stable base, then continued cutting slices of the sweet potato. From there, cut each slice into strips, and each strip into cubes.
  2. Chop up bacon to pieces roughly the same size as the sweet potato pieces.
  3. Heat a skillet over high heat. Add the bacon and cook until bacon is crisp and fat is rendered. With a slotted spoon, scoop bacon out of the skillet and drain on some paper towels.
  4. Add sweet potato to the remaining bacon fat in skillet. Stir so sweet potato is evenly coated and add a pinch of salt. Cover pan and turn heat down to medium. Allow to cook for 7 minutes (less time for smaller dice, more time for larger dice) and test for doneness. Remove cover, add bacon, stir to combine, and cook for 2 more minutes to allow flavors to blend.
Leave a Reply

